we Analysis Of Become The Journey By Femi Osofisan ~ Naija Poets
This very short poem by Femi Osofisan is a motivational poem that calls the readers to action; I prefer this poem to Locusts by Femi Osofisan, because of its brevity and simplicity.

Base on naijapoets.com observation, the poem has a simple diction with 3 stanzas of 4 lines each. Observing the poem with a layman's view, the poem has the theme of hope and longing for a change, the poem also possess the theme of sailing the sea and the theme of taking up responsibilies than waiting.

Looking at the poem with technical eyes, the poem possesses a hidden finger pointing towards a certain direction because the word "ferry" and "paddle" are symbolic in nature; it will take Osofisan to perfectly unearth that which he buried within the poem.

The Poem:-
"So wait
no longer
for the coming
of the ferry:

the promise
of the

Turn, beloved.
the journey itself!"

Femi Osofisan is a Nigerian poet and writer; the author of the novel titled Women Of Owu. He is also a professor and has worked in University of Ibadan, Oyo state and Kwara State University, Kwara state.


Samuel C. Enunwa aka samueldpoetry
(the Leo with wings flying)

___________________ _____________ _______

Article Index

Popular Posts

Blog Archive